Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Smoosher ( )
Date: October 18, 2014 04:11PM

Hi, I'm new.
I just became a non-believer right before general conference. My husband is a convert with a small amount of experience and knowledge of alcohol and I have absolutely none.

I'm was so curious to see what the general public loves about alcohol and coffee so last night I tried a pumpkin porter from Four Peaks brewing company (local to AZ, I'm an absolute noob and have no idea if this place is well-known or not). I took one teeny sip and almost puked because it was disgusting.

I then tried some Mike's Hard Strawberry Lemonade. The initial taste was good but the aftertaste was horrid and reminded me of cleaning supplies.

This morning I had my husband get me a Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin Latte and it was also gross and bitter and left my throat raw.

Coffee and alcohol are beloved by so many so what am I doing wrong? Did I take the wrong approach? Any recommendations? Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Lethbridge Reprobate ( )
Date: October 18, 2014 04:19PM

Look for a Hefweisen beer....has some apricot flavors and is a nice introduction to malt beverages....or there's the old standby rum & Coke......or a screwdriver made with orange juice and vodka....add a shot of Galliano and you've got the legendary Harvey Wallbanger...good luck and enjoy!

Ron Burr

Posted by: brucermalarky ( )
Date: October 18, 2014 04:36PM

Just go vodka soda or sprite for a mild, hard alcohol. For beer, I'd say start with shock top or similar. Nice and easy introduction.

Posted by: NormaRae ( )
Date: October 18, 2014 10:15PM

Very good advice. Blue Moon is my favorite. They also have seasonal varieties.

Posted by: checkingout ( )
Date: October 18, 2014 04:48PM

Coffee - start with a mocha frap, later try a vanilla latte, experiment with the Starbucks menu.