Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: descartes1979 ( )
Date: January 29, 2011 11:51PM

So I have been studying the history of Mormonism off an on for the last 5 years (which is why I am no longer a Mormon by the way), and every couple of months I am stunned by something new that I have never heard of before in my life. I grew up in the church, serveda mission, married in the temple, gospel doctrine teacher - and there was a point in my TBM life that I seriously thought I knew everything there was to know . It just blows me away how much history is hidden from the members.

Case in point - I had never heard of the Aiken massacre or the Circleville massacre until yesterday while perusing this forum. Crazy shit.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: WiserWomanNow ( )
Date: January 30, 2011 12:15AM

...and you will have many more occasions to exclaim, "Just when I think I have heard everything…”

There seems to be no end to the "aftershocks" of Mormonism!

Posted by: D. Lamb ( )
Date: January 30, 2011 12:30AM

Along with these were the murders of some of the John Wesley Powell expedition (famous explorer of Grand Canyon) by the southern UT mormons. If I remember correctly, these men were lost and needing help. This took place in 1869.

The mormons took them to the ward chapel and killed them. They were thought to be spies just like the others who were killed.

Below is a link with more information about this incident.

http://www.utlm.org/onlineresources/1869murderinamormonwardhouse.htm

Posted by: descartes1979 ( )
Date: January 30, 2011 12:34AM

Ho. Ly. Shit.

Mind blown. I am literally raging right now.

Posted by: SL Cabbie ( )
Date: January 30, 2011 06:36AM

From the church's own news station site...

http://www.ksl.com/?nid=148&sid=493356

>Remains Linked to Massacre Found in Nephi

>What led to their deaths? There are two accounts.