Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: nomonomo ( )
Date: February 04, 2015 08:08AM

What is the difference between
--going to the celestial kingdom
--living with heavenly father
--exaltation

Thanks for helping me to understand!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: dogzilla ( )
Date: February 04, 2015 09:13AM

I'm no doctrine expert, but I think all those phrases pretty much mean the same thing.

You do know there's three levels of "heaven," right? (In mormonism.) I never got it quite sorted who goes where, only that everyone's ultimate goal is supposed to be the CK. Which is the same thing as being exalted, which is the same thing as living with HF.

Posted by: blueorchid ( )
Date: February 04, 2015 10:29AM

Who knows if the Mormons even have an "official" definition for those things, but as I understand it, going to the Celestial Kingdom is just landing somewhere on the planet where God lives.

Technically you are living with Heavenly Father just by being in the Kingdom itself. So it's like saying you live with Obama just because you are in the same country. Maybe you get to see Heavenly Father drive by sometimes in his motorcade.

Exaltation means you are still on the God track, or it used to before Hinckley denied we could become Gods as we were all taught from the pulpit back in the early days.

So, you can get into the CK and still be a servant with no chance of becoming God.

You can still get into the CK and be a regular person who went to the temple, got felt up, got your new name, learned the secret handshakes, but decided not to participate in polygamy and so don't qualify to become a God.