Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Mr. Buddy ( )
Date: February 06, 2015 01:07PM

I am an ardent anti-BYU man. Even as a TBM I despised BYU and the fact that part of my tithing went to support BYU. I am also a graduate of the UofU and love seeing BYU lose at anything.

As a joke, a co-worker in SoCal brought me a BYU cheerleading calendar. He knows I'm from Utah and that I'm not a BYU fan. I made the mistake of leaving the calendar on my desk to prolong the joke and hear the comments about the embarrassingly quirky cheerleading pictures.

Today a gay co-worker walked by and noticed the calendar. He is a really nice guy so I doubt he will think twice about it but I was extremely embarrassed to think he might associate me with BYU and being a Mormon.

I am still proud of my Mormon roots and grateful for my TBM family. But I am beyond irate at Oaks, etc and the bigoted, homophonic rhetoric that they continue to spew. Hail to the Profits who have made me embarrassed to be myself.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Ether ( )
Date: February 06, 2015 01:28PM

This laugh might make you feel better...

http://www.salamandersociety.com/foyer/byu/

Posted by: blueorchid ( )
Date: February 06, 2015 01:36PM

LMAO. Diversity?!? Cultural diversity? What does that mean in relation to this photo?

The only thing I can think of when I look at the row of privileged northern european descent kids looking like clones of each other is that perhaps they plan to have their wedding receptions each in a different cultural hall.

Hysterical.

Posted by: dydimus ( )
Date: February 06, 2015 03:16PM

I saw this on some other site.

They added the phrase, "We accept brunettes too!"

Posted by: blueorchid ( )
Date: February 06, 2015 01:39PM