Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: minnieme ( )
Date: October 28, 2018 11:25AM

Recently my husband discovered he had relatives who joined the church in Germany and were part of a handcart company that travelled to SLC. The interesting part comes when he finds out that they left and went back to Kansas and dumped the church. The last known date that they were for sure in S.L.C.is 1854, the first known date that they were in the state of Kansas was 1860. There is no evidence of polygamy and they had several children that accompanied them when they left.
My background is born in the covenant and quit around ten years ago. My husband was a convert who is still a tbm. He was so excited to find out that he had Mormon ancestors and so bummed when he found out they left.
He keeps asking me why they would have left the church and why after traveling all that way they would go back to Kansas.
I've tried to tell him about several theories, none make the church look good. So does anybody know of policies or practices or anything that might have been going on that is documented in the church's essays or somewhere else that tells about this time period and what would lead normal people to leave?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/28/2018 11:27AM by minnieme.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: October 28, 2018 11:37AM

I don't have any particular insight into who his mormon ancestors were or why they left, but as a general rule, the less time in a belief system, the easier it is to leave because your 'sunk costs' are less.

You typed "handset"... Does that mean 'handcart'?