Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cold-Dodger ( )
Date: July 20, 2015 11:30AM

I've had my first couple of alcoholic beverages this last week –– never more than a single tall can of hard lemonade a night, spaced several days apart form each other.

Is a hangover just severe dehydration with an accompanying headache? Alcohol only takes 3 -5 hours for the body to filer from your blood stream, right? Any thing else I should know?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Darren Steers ( )
Date: July 20, 2015 11:37AM

I believe the conventional wisdom is dehydration.

However, I'm not an expert on hangovers because I do not get them. Not because I don't occasionally partake in enough of the falling down juice to justify a hangover, just because I don't seem to get them.

Posted by: The Dude ( )
Date: July 20, 2015 11:47AM

I have had the spectrum of hangovers. From the light headache, the migraine from hell, to the can't keep breakfastn, hell even lunch, down and let my emt roommate practice giving me an IV as I choke down dry toast.

For most folks sugary drinks compound the problem because the high fluctuation in blood glucose levels. Back in college this was what gave me the worst wones and why now I never drink a cocktail mixed in a bucket.

Avoid common pain relievers as they may cause liver damage. Read labels first. Hydrate and eat light preferably high protien. Take a stomach med (pepto etc. I never did but I have seen it done) if needed to help get and keep food down again read labels.

Posted by: Brethren,adieu ( )
Date: July 20, 2015 11:48AM

Yes. Its dehydration. Drinking lots of plain water along with your alcohol helps prevent hangovers. I've personally tested this piece of wisdom and it has worked for me.

Posted by: dissonanceresolved ( )
Date: July 20, 2015 12:56PM