Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Out and about ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 09:51AM

Oaks reminds me of Anton LeVey. Same energy. Anyone who could look into those dead eyes and believe he's connected to a benevolent force is delusional.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 10:17AM

For a Double Whammy take a look in Oak's and Bednar's eyes at the same time. You may not live to tell though.

Posted by: Twinker ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 11:07AM

He would have made a perfect villain in a James Bond movie!

Posted by: dagny ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 11:18AM

He creeped me out when he was president of BYU and I was a student there. He didn't strike me as having compassion. He didn't seem all that friendly in his interactions with students to me. It seemed more about rules and obedience. He was all about the business of his job I suppose.

Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 12:40PM

I was there when Oaks was president too. I knew two people who had a lot of one on one with him. The student body president and the editor of the Daily Universe (Isn't that what it was called? I forget). They both had stories that made it clear that Oaks was first and foremost a company man and there was nothing that couldn't be sacrificed for the good of the Church's and BYU's reputation.

And of course all my friends were getting electro-shocked at the time courtesy of Dallin himself no matter what he says.

Posted by: Rubicon ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 04:05PM

I will give Jeffery Holland credit. He loved being president of BYU and it showed. He was always friendly and he did an act of kindness for my roommate who was working at his house. Sadly it’s not the same Jeff you see now. Apostle Jeff seems so angry and miserable.

Posted by: shakinthedust ( )
Date: February 23, 2023 12:52PM