Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: rutabaga ( )
Date: October 21, 2015 10:03AM

I return and report my visit with the stake president.

I was invited to meet with SP to “get acquainted.” I met at the agreed on time, we sat down in the high council room, dragging a couple chairs together.

He truly did want to get acquainted. He and I have known of each other for 35 years but he knew nothing of my background. In his capacity of presiding high priest he was going through the list of high priests and interviewing us.

I told him where I came from, how I came to California, how I came to Santa Barbara. Where did I meet DW. How many kids and where they live. What I do for a living. The whole picture.

What is your calling? I told him. How do you like it? Then he went off on a tangent into family history and how much he enjoys it. "Do you enjoy it Bro. rutabaga?" "No not really."

I was really beginning to think this was all he wanted, just get to know me.

Timidly, slowly, hesitantly, “Bro. rutabaga, it seems like I remember something about some doctrinal issue you have?” Okay, here we go.

So I launched. I don’t have the “religion gene” (true) I don’t have a craving need for spirituality and I kept coming back to that with the other topics we discussed.

I told him I haven’t been to the temple for decades. Up to now he had been cool and calm. At this piece of news his eyebrow went up a millimeter. “Well why Bro. rutabaga?” I explained what I had learned about the Nauvoo temple, the genesis of the endowment, and when combined with the elements of masonry and polygamy, in my mind it became less a divine gift than a way to solemnize a predilection. “Yes Bro. rutabaga, that is a comment we are hearing a lot.”