Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Keasey ( )
Date: October 29, 2015 10:22PM

Hi. I'm Keasey, I'm 20. I'm a scholarship student at University, I'm 1 of 5 kids in a strongly religious family. My mom brought us up to be hard-core Mormons, and I was until I got to high school. That's when I started realizing that I was not a good person. I was a good Mormon, but absolute human trash other than that. I judged people relentlessly, I looked down on homosexuals, smokers, even coffee drinkers. I was Laurel's president, a star seminary student, and just full to the brim with hate. I took a step back and realized that I wasn't the only one. The way my friends and I talked about "bad Mormons" and others who didn't share our views was disgusting. My mother turned out to be the cruelest and most intolerant person I'd ever met.
And so I thought "I'll make the church better". Because it was just a problem with how the gospel was lived, not with the doctrine itself. Until I became a feminist, and started to admit to myself that there were way bigger problems than nitpicky members. Like the fact that the Mormon church is built on a foundation of polygamy and racism, that biological gender prejudice is so ingrained into the doctrine that girls aren't even allowed to even wear dress pants to church. Like the fact that even though church members lie to your face and say "it's fine to be a working mother" gender inferiority and difference is outlined in the Proclamation to the Family, and taught to women since Primary. Like the fact that church members encourage you not to think about issues you have with doctrine, but to "Leave it alone, John" (remember that Elder Packer talk?).