Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: peacefulwarrior ( )
Date: November 04, 2015 11:49AM

I am posting here, because i really value and respect the opinion of so many of you here at RFM. Thank you all for the levity and laughs as I have transitioned myself out of Mormonism.

I've got a great job right now at a young age (23) and my relatives think it would be foolish for me to abandon it and pursure something like the military. However, this job isn't something I see myself making a career out of... ( I work in IT, sit at a desk all day with a long commute, in a job i am not interested or emotionally invested in.) I have recently been exploring career options, or a new path.

Income at this point in my life is a non-issue to me. I have no wife or kids and I want to seek challenging new experiences and see the world. The only thing that bothers me is i wont be able to see my family often, but i havent been able to do that much lately anyway (i live in PA now and they are in Alabama.)

in doing my resarch (which i believe has been extensive) i have been really drawn to the idea of becoming a Navy Nuke. (Basically i would work with the nuclear reactors on Naval carriers and Submarines.) It is challenging and demanding, both physically and intellectually. The attrition rate in the training program is as high as the NAVY Seals, and it is a 6 year committment, with the first two years being in training, followed by a 4 year committment actively doing the job. While im highly intelligent, i have never been studious or a that hard of a worker. I believe that if i commit to this goal into I can excel, especially if im around like minded peers.