Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: kjensen ( )
Date: March 09, 2016 11:11AM

I am an amateur actor (emphasis on amateur) and recently after a performance, as is customary in this theater, the actors go to the front door to await the audience as they leave the theater. In the audience was a person with whom I had served in the bishopric and he approached me and without warning gave me a big hug. It caught me by surprise, as this man and I were never close, and since leaving the church, I have had little contact with him. The vibe I got from the hug was not one of congratulations on a good performance(he said nothing), but it seemed to be one of pity or something wierd. To say the least, I was a little offended. I felt that this man was hugging me, because that would fix everything as if that all I was lacking was a hug from him so that I would go back to church. It seemed to shallow and artificial, meant for public viewing, as this man has never come to my door to ask why I left the church or to inquire as a friend as to my true feelings. However, what I learned in leaving the church, is that there are no true friendships with Mormons only church acquaintances. This incident only confirmed that observation. Yuck!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: bradley ( )
Date: March 09, 2016 12:13PM

Ding Ding Ding! We have a winner! Yes, there are no true friendships with Mormons. That whole subject is some interesting psychology, but it's a real thing. That reason alone is cause to leave Mormonism. You don't want to become like that.

Your creepy encounter reminds me of Toy Story:

Woody: You are a child's play thing!
Buzz: You are a sad, strange little man, and you have my pity.

Posted by: Gheco ( )
Date: March 09, 2016 03:16PM

"No true friendships in Mormonism"