Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: fbtj ( )
Date: March 31, 2016 01:04AM

One of my biggest reasons for recently leaving the church was the November policy and the catastrophic effect it had on LGBTQ+ members suicides in the Utah county and greater Utah area. I'm 17 and a high school student in Utah county, and along with going to the regular public school, half of my B-days I spend over at an advanced college credit school where kids from all over the district also partially attend. I'm a film student there and often we have BYU and UVU film students coming in to give us presentations.

Well one day we had 4 girls giving a presentation, but one of them looked very uncomfortable and upset. Halfway through she walked out of the room and said "I'm sorry, excuse me I have to leave, good luck guys." and swiftly left. I waited a few seconds but the curiosity killed me, I'm the type of person that likes to listen to peoples problems and talk to them, and I just had to know what was making her so emotional. I gave some shitty bathroom excuse and left the room and approached her on her way to her car. I initiated conversation asking how she was doing.

This was a desperate girl, she was overcome with anxiety and was on the brink of suicide, later she would recall she "just had to tell SOMEONE, ANYONE." A lot of people wear their problems on their sleeve for attention, not her, she bottled them up so long they exploded on me in panic.