Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Bentaylor23 ( )
Date: May 06, 2016 02:49PM

When did Sunday become the day of sit around and do nothing day? Who started that in the church?

I have been working on buying a boat for the past 6 months, now my wife has tried to put a rule in place saying if Im allowed to buy a boat that it can not be used on Sunday, like I'm some kind of 5 year old. This of course started an argument.

How do I go about this? I asked her if I shouldn't because Joseph Smith told her I shouldn't. Probably not the best thing to say but it shut her up.

So annoying, she had no problem with me buying the boat before I told her I wasnt going to church anymore.

Options: ReplyQuote
Date: May 06, 2016 02:58PM

This was her latest message about it.

"Because for me, that is a day of rest to relax and not do worldly things. And I'm trying to teach the kids that. They learn by example, and it doesn't work if I'm teaching them one thing and you're doing something completely different. That is my one request and I'm not going to budge. "

Posted by: Levi ( )
Date: May 07, 2016 09:23AM

As if spending the day with the loved ones, hanging out on a boat is sooooooo worldly.

My mother used that term too often.

"Be in the world but not of the world"

That old crone lived in her little world of couplets.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: May 06, 2016 03:12PM

Yeah, she is teaching them 'by example'... Church over family, on the basis of squishy emotional input that the family needs to follow the profit.

You could ask for a list of 'worldly things'. But then I'm big on being silly.

But to your heading, yeah, 'doing nothing' on Sunday has come to be an expression of living the gospel. But 'doing nothing' for an entire day is not good for the human body. But logic, and intelligent discussion, is not a mormon strong suit.

Posted by: Exmoron ( )