Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Beanhead ( )
Date: May 25, 2016 06:13PM

I'm a single mom. I get a lot of questions about "where's your baby's daddy, where's your husband, why doesn't your child's father ever visit?" Most people who ask, back off after a simple "he's not around".

Today a little 6 year old kid (who is in a religious protestant home) asked me, and I wasn't sure how to answer.... Also he's friends with my child, so I wanted to be nice.

The kid told me "I needed to get a husband, and that marriage is blessed by god" I agreed ;-)

Also, a few adults are really nosy and I'm not good at telling people to back off. Suggestions?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: May 25, 2016 06:22PM

Oh man, I thought you were concerned about the questions your kids were asking you, like about your love life, an' stuff.

With regard to your issue regarding nosey-parker adults, my answers would depend on what I thought there motivation was for asking. Genuine 'simple' curiosity does exist...

Personally, I don't ask anybody anything, because that's how I want them to treat me.

Being rude comes easy and is very, very natural to me, but you have to chose wisely; no sense pissing off someone you think you might like, or would like to keep in your life.

That would be my guideline: "Share, when you think they care."

Posted by: East Coast Exmo ( )
Date: May 25, 2016 06:45PM

You should make up a story so horrific and heart-wrenching that the listeners' eyes will widen, and they will slowly back away. Perhaps your "husband" was a federal agent who had infiltrated the mafia, but was caught and tortured to death. Make up some memorable details.

Or keep it simple by saying, "The government won't let me discuss anything about him." Give them a knowing look.

Posted by: summer ( )
Date: May 25, 2016 07:52PM