Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: JenMikell ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:11PM

Hi everyone,

I am a nevermo. My first husband was also a nevermo, but grew up in Utah. I met him after he moved to California, where I grew up. We moved back to Utah during the marriage, and I was miserable. I literally thought I would go crazy or kill myself if we had to stay. During the divorce, he converted to Mormonism. This was really weird, because he was pretty hateful toward them the whole time we were married. I have a Master's in Social Work, and held a License in Clinical Social Work for about 10 years. In that time, I learned a lot about cults, and hyper-religiosity. I have been a lurker here for a long time, and want to come out of hiding so...hello!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: ificouldhietokolob ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:12PM

Hello!
Your experience with social work probably gives you insights that others would value here. Nice to have you. Don't be shy about speaking up!

Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:14PM

Welcome, JenMikell.

We're really happy to have you here!!!

:) :) :)

Posted by: blueorchid ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:17PM

Well Hello there! Master's in social work. License in Clinical Social Work. And a neverMo to boot! What a winning combo.

Please chime in on, well, everything.

Posted by: hausfrau ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:21PM

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: June 20, 2016 04:25PM

Welcome, but please don't diagnose me as I much prefer to live in infamy... I mean, in ignorance!!

Date: June 20, 2016 04:30PM

No worries, elderdog!

The most I would do is speak up if I saw something that made me think the person would benefit from professional services, and make suggestions as to what steps to take next. This board has helped me so much, and I look forward to contributing!

Posted by: edzachery ( )