Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anon1957 ( )
Date: July 14, 2016 11:38PM

Hi all, I have a question to ask about DNA, I'm not an expert but I know a lot of You Are. I just had a DNA test done by ancestry.com and in it I was listed as about 65% Great Britain. My dad is supposed to be 100% Danish according to our family records. That should make me 50% Danish, right? However the Scandinavian was listed as only about 12%. Even with Western Europe included with the Scandinavian it was well below 50%. Do you think this could be a case of false paternity? Please advise. I've always thought it could be the case

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: SL Cabbie ( )
Date: July 14, 2016 11:48PM

If you and your dad have the same Y-chromosome, then it's overwhelmingly likely he's your pappy...

If your father is deceased, any male sibling of his could provide the same information. So could your paternal grandfather, assuming your dad wasn't adopted.

My opinion of ancestry.com is it's pretty much a fad and a sales job, BTW, but there's probably no way to distinguish Scandanavian DNA (i.e. Danish) from British DNA with any degree of certainty. Those Vikings got around, and it wasn't all that long ago, honest. That's why we find red hair in the British Isles, incidentally.

What they're dealing with is "autosomal DNA," i.e. DNA within the cell nucleus, and because of "genetic recombination," what they provide is information on the likely origin of certain nucleotide sequences.

Posted by: Anon1957 ( )
Date: July 14, 2016 11:58PM

Thanks, Cabbie.

Is there a better service you would recommend?

Posted by: TXRancher ( )
Date: July 14, 2016 11:51PM