Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: grendel ( )
Date: July 19, 2016 11:13AM

For your enjoyment.....

Since the one I participated in about 20 years ago, they have added a "Sweetwater River Crossing" simulation to the fun.

Also look for the Stake Presidency's "Kickoff Video". Its a classic.

https://www.facebook.com/walkbesideme2016/

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Chicken N. Backpacks ( )
Date: July 19, 2016 11:53AM

Why don't the reenactors actually wear authentic clothing? I'm no expert, but if I had arrived poor from Europe I'd be wearing what I brought, not some summer weight cowboy duds.

Yeah, I'm looking for *anything* to denigrate trek.

And they should have green wood carts that break down.

Posted by: bradley ( )
Date: July 19, 2016 12:02PM

Do they plan to add starvation and cannibalism simulations?

Posted by: ificouldhietokolob ( )
Date: July 19, 2016 04:56PM

My great-great grandfather started to "Zion" with his mom, dad, and 2 siblings in 1848 when the family joined the church in England. Waiting for the ship for the states in Liverpool, his father died. They went to the US without him. Shortly after arriving, his sister died of cholera in St. Louis. Then his younger brother.
Only he and his mom left. They hit the mormon trail from there. Both made it to Utah alive, but his mom didn't fare well, and died in Parowan 3 years later after being ill nearly the entire time they were in Utah.

This "call to gather in Zion" cost the lives of so many people. For a made-up, bullshit religion. The number of lives on the heads of Smith and Young are almost too many to count.