Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: HelpWanted ( )
Date: September 23, 2016 08:55PM

So question my friends, I recently left the LDS Inc. so I'm fairly new to getting the questions as to why I left. However, the recent one is that people are asking how I could not know the church is true when they found that the DNA that was proven false was just found to actually link the natives with people in Jerusalem. Can anybody shed any light? Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Elders Quorum Drop-out ( )
Date: September 23, 2016 09:04PM

First off, congrats on leaving the cult!

Second, your question confuses me. Are you asking for info/sources in regards to DNA showing Native American lineage doesn't link to the Jews? Or are you saying that TBMs are saying there IS DNA proving Jews are ancestors of Native Americans and you'd like those sources?

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: September 23, 2016 09:10PM

I bet it's the latter. I hope SLCabbie weighs in! It's in my mind that there is an LDS pseudo-scientist claiming a 'find' that "blows a hole" in the no Middle East DNA in Native Americans. But it's not true.

Posted by: Elders Quorum Drop-out ( )
Date: September 23, 2016 09:19PM

Yeah, this was an article my dad sent me with the hopes that it would make me question my decision of leaving the church. Lol

http://www.nativeamericanhere.com/uncategorized/dna-scientists-claim-that-cherokees-are-from-the-middle-east/4/

That's when you just hold your tongue because you don't want your dad to feel stupid and just respond with a, "oh, cool. Thanks, dad. Interesting stuff". haha

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/23/2016 09:21PM by Elders Quorum Drop-out.

Posted by: logged out this time ( )
Date: September 23, 2016 09:14PM

"when they found that the DNA that was proven false was just found to actually link the natives with people in Jerusalem"