Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Landon ( )
Date: December 13, 2016 09:14PM

I'd like to start off with saying, this is my first time posting on here. I appreciate ANY advice that would help me in this situation...

When I was about 12 or 13 years old I started having "little doubts" about the church and it's teachings. I went to everyone I could think of to get answers;my teachers, my bishop my parents,etc. Without hesitation each of them told me to pray and I would receive testimony. So being the little TBM deacon I was, I prayed,read my scriptures, fasted, everything I could think of for 2 months. I didn't receive an answer. From that time forth my doubts became issues and I didn't believe.but I pushed it aside and went to church like I was happy

When I was almost 16 I started researching the issues I had, the real intellectual, and logical way. But those few questions soon turned into hundreds of more questions. In my search for truth I found mormonthink.com and the exmormon website. And I studied all the questions I had and more. I never really had a testimony but after studying the FACTS I dont think I will ever have one.

Unfortunately, my TBM parents feel differently. They think it will all just blow off and I'll have a great testimony of the church, I just need to have "faith" and "ask diligently"
I'm honestly very scared of telling my parents 1) because I'm so young and 2) my mom has hinted about taking away my clothes, phone, car, and kicking me out of the house if I will not try to have the church in my life. I have not told them yet. Should I tell them my thoughts and feelings? How should I go about telling them? I need advice. How would you go about leaving the cult at my age? Also out of curiosity, when did you all leave the church?

Thanks-------- Landon.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: StillAnon ( )