Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: benjimanluther ( )
Date: October 23, 2010 03:17AM

I'm a professional freelance musician with a masters degree in my field. I play multiple instruments, including piano and organ, and I'm a very good accompanist.

This skill-set has made it fairly easy for me to pick up work as a church musician. I play piano and organ for Sunday services at two different churches, and often pick up extra work playing for weddings, funerals, and other special events.

This has resulted in one of the major ironies of my life: I am an atheist, but a major portion of my income is earned working for churches.

I could easily feel conflicted about this. On one hand, I have a rather negative view of organized religion, and I believe the world would be a better place without magical thinking. On the other hand, I'm pragmatic and opportunistic. I'm at an early stage of my career, still trying to carve out my niche, and I would be stupid to turn down anything that pays. At this stage, churches are my most consistent source of work, and the pay is better than most of the other things I do. I also enjoy the work most of the time.

Church work could easily turn into a comfortable full-time career for me, but I'm also pursuing some avenues that could take me into a more secular realm. Either way, I'll probably be doing at least some church work throughout my career, and I'm OK with that. I've worked enough menial dead-end jobs to appreciate how fortunate I am to have a career as a musician. I love what I do, and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

My church jobs have also played a major role in my post-mormon healing process. Like many musicians, I did a lot of free playing for the Mormon Church over the years. Getting paid to do what I used to do for free brings a smile to my face and makes me feel like I am thumbing my nose at the cult.