Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Dennis Rodman ( )
Date: February 11, 2017 11:44PM

Grew up in a small town outside of Utah. Attended a small Ward with average SM attendance of 50-60. Never gave much thought to whether the church was true of not. My mom said it was, but dad never said it wasn't. Went on a mission and attended Rick's College and BYU. Moved so So. Cal. and was involved in a SYA ward. Moved back to a small city in the southwest with a couple of wards. I attended off and on.

I was a high school basketball referee. Our stake had a basketball season. Someone found out I was a referee and asked me if I would referee one of the games. The other referee had refereed a few other church games and did ok.

I was refereeing a game with a member of the High Counsel on the team. I called a foul on him and he said "that's a bunch of crap." I gave him a technical foul to which he responded "now you are just being stupid." I gave him another technical and told him he was now disqualified from playing further. He said I couldn't do that to him because he was on the High Counsel and I was only and Elder. I turned around and walked out of the building. The next week I was called again and asked if I would referee the next game. I said "Sure" but never showed up. I have not been back to church since.

I guess I was just offended.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: not logged in, again ( )
Date: February 12, 2017 12:02AM

If you could have a do-over, instead of walking out would you have simply called the game a forfeit against the HC's team, on the spot? His pinhead might have exploded over that.

Posted by: gatorman ( )
Date: February 12, 2017 12:07AM