Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anon for this one ( )
Date: May 18, 2011 02:52PM

I need some advice, but before that I need to briefly tell my story.

I grew up in utah county, and almost everyone I knew in my high school was Mormon. I went to BYU after that, and I've only had a few non-Mormon friends in my entire life. I served a mission, was faithful in the church, and believed in it, even though I was often skeptical about personal experiences that I heard once in a while. By nature I'm kind of skeptical.

When I was close to graduating from BYU, I read a magazine article about atheism, and found it very intriguing, but I didn't dare investigate further because I was attending BYU. After I graduated, I bought a copy of The God Delusion about a week later, and found that my faith was completely devastated. I had lost all faith in God. I proceeded to read more about church history to understand its origins better, but I didn't believe anymore.

However, because I had no LDS friends, had recently moved to Salt Lake, and literally didn't know how to make friends outside the church, I was still too afraid to leave. I think I also bought into the "kids from non-Mormon families do drugs and have horrible lives" myth. For the next four years I struggled to be active even though I didn't believe. At some point I tried to regain my faith but it was never really quite back. I was also getting nervous because I was getting older and felt like I needed to get married, but most LDS girls didn't want to date someone who secretly had serious doubts about the church. I started to date a girl I really liked, but knew it was going to be an issue.