Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: RebelJamesDean ( )
Date: March 24, 2017 10:40PM

The pressure on church leaders to teach/preach religious doctrine in the face of more and more evidence to the contrary, must be excruciating.

The cognitive dissonance this must cause strikes me as unbearable.

Someone once said, " A lie is a lie, no matter how many times you tell it ".

Living a lie that impacts your core causes extreme angst.

How many Church leaders are any of you aware of that seek therapy in dealing with these issues?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: imaworkinonit ( )
Date: March 25, 2017 11:14PM

I have no personal knowledge of church leaders, or if they are experiencing cognitive dissonance.

However, they MUST know of the historical and problems in the B of M and B of A that we know of. And I'd venture to guess that they know that God isn't speaking to them, and telling them how to resolve these problems.

Judging from my own experience with unanswered prayers, I'd guess that some of them blame themselves for not being 'worthy enough' to get answers.

On the other hand, there may be some that don't really care, as long as they get to enjoy the adulation of adoring church members and free travel around the world. Maybe they are 'past feeling' guilt over giving the false impression that they speak to God.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/25/2017 11:15PM by imaworkinonit.

Posted by: Itzpapalotl ( )
Date: March 26, 2017 12:55AM

There is no such thing as false knowledge, only false beliefs.

Or so the philosophers say.

Posted by: Babyloncansuckit ( )
Date: March 26, 2017 02:38AM

Rock star status and millions of adoring sycophants can smooth over a lot of cognitive dissonance.

Posted by: Itzpapalotl ( )
Date: March 26, 2017 11:17AM