Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cold-Dodger ( )
Date: May 31, 2017 11:12PM

The boss says I'm on a honest guy who hasn't cheated him, and I even make the customers happy most of the time, but I have trouble communicating. He said if I would just look people in the eye and give them undivided attention, he would have kept me, but as it stands he doesn't have the time to put up with me. He says I clam up when I'm nervous and stop communicating. He said I should do whatever I'm passionate about... I mean i have a degree... all I got to do, he says, is find something I love so much that I would do it for free. Pest control isn't for me.

He speaks wisdom. Except that I signed up for pest control precisely for the reasons he enumerated. People drive me bonkers. Pest control is one of those businesses that lets you talk to people minimally and listen to podcasts or audiobooks while you work.

The reason the office settled on for getting rid of me was essentially 'bad communication skills'. I'm thinking... if I can't even hold a job in pest control due to bad communication skills... I'm screwed.

This is getting st the heart of what has made my life difficult for a very long time. The boss is right: I do clam up when I'm nervous around people. I've spent most of my life living in a socially anxious state. It's half the reason I was miserable as a Mormon. The other half of the reason is that Mormonism is bullshit and teaches its members to have poisonous views about themselves and about the world they live in.

All the reasons that life is hard exist with or without Mormonism, but Mormonism is false and just makes it all harder. On the other hand, I have shafted the community and support network i grew up in.