Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: helenm ( )
Date: July 07, 2017 10:06PM

I am a non-Mormon and I have friends who have left the church and some who are closeted non-believers. I notice that you guys post here commonly and I always enjoy reading what you guys have to say because you both have a lot of wisdom and experience.

I just wanted to if you guys were BIC? How long have you been in the church before leaving? What cracked your shelves and did it tear a part your families? Also, how long have you guys been posting on RFM?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Babyloncansuckit ( )
Date: July 07, 2017 11:17PM

Gee, thanks. I'm still learning.

I was BIC and lasted about 40 years. I turned by back on everything I ever knew, so it's hard to sort out some stuff. Things came to a head all at once. The authoritarianism was probably the first crack. When the Russians complain that your church is too authoritarian, you have to wonder.

There must be some positive takeaway from the Mormon experience. I think I'm starting to understand some of it. I've heard belief described as a contract we have with reality. That would describe the things I saw during that time. The synchronicities, the miracles. Belief based on complete hogwash has real power. Why? If God has nothing to do with it, it must be us.

Why did the chapel feel special? Was it all in my head? The temple too. I could feel a shift in the energy when stepping into temple grounds. I'd stop in my tracks and look around. There was the fence boundary, right there. Yet we know it's all made up. Beyond a shadow of a doubt, those are the facts. The only thing making it special is people who believe it. Their belief rubs off on the building, just like it does in all belief systems. Every religion's temple is as holy as the Mormon temple. It's just a lot cheaper to get in.