Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: July 24, 2017 04:02PM

I graduated from BYU many years ago and feel that I got an education comparable to a mid-range state school. My niece is going there in the fall and my TBM mom was raving about how inexpensive it was compared to other private colleges like Harvard and Stanford. My mom never attended BYU so I pointed out that while I feel I got an adequate education, it was in no way comparable to a place like Stanford. At which point she began taking about how in demand BYU graduates are, how everyone respects a BYU degree and how many companies want moral employees nowadays so seek out BYU grads/Mormons. She got a bit hysterical when I pointed out there was plenty of sex and drinking at BYU, they were just better at hiding it. So then she switched to the whole "angels above us are silent notes taking" scenario and how people who acted like that at BYU would have to answer to God.

My objections to going sending kids to BYU, other than the Mormonism, is that while it's an OK education, it really doesn't teach you critical thinking. I also call it a party school, since for many girls when I went there it was all about finding an eternal partner, rather than training for a career. The "party" in this case was serial dating but it did distract from what a college education should be about. Finally, I think that religious universities, in general, don't get the respect on a resume that other colleges and universities do. They definitely don't get the respect my mom thinks they do.

About the time my mom started ranting about the terrible liberals ruining the country, the imaginary timer on my oven went off and I told her I had to go. But I'm wondering what more rational people think of BYU.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: July 24, 2017 04:08PM