Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: inovermyhead ( )
Date: August 01, 2017 01:13AM

As a single non-Mormon woman, I could use some advice on a personal and professional problem I’m having with my single male Mormon coworker. He and I have been working together for several months, in roles that require us to work closely -- one-on-one -- nearly every day, even traveling alone together on occasion. Our professional relationship was easy and fun from day one, and we quickly grew closer, becoming friends. His being Mormon was of no consequence to me, though I was initially careful not to let myself develop any romantic feelings for him, expecting that he might prefer to date only Mormon women. But the chemistry between us was overwhelming, and it wasn’t long before I fell hard.

Over time, he continued to pay more attention to me, leading me (and a few annoying gossips) to believe that the attraction was mutual, despite my status as a non-Mormon. He never went so far as to ask me out, and I was loving getting to know him organically through our work, without all the pressures of dating, so I decided to just enjoy being friends with potential rather than rush things and risk damaging our professional relationship.

Then, a couple of months ago, he suddenly pulled back with no explanation. After a week of walking on eggshells around him, I asked him directly if I’d done something to upset him. He responded very positively, apologizing for any miscommunication, reassuring me that he liked and respected me, but never really explaining the change in behavior. Weeks later, in a lighter conversation, he did share that he usually dates younger Mormon women. That was hard to hear given our history and my feelings, but I respect his choices and put my disappointment aside (or at least did a pretty impressive job of faking it).