Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: horrorukulele ( )
Date: August 28, 2017 06:26PM

I've been playing violin for 5 years and I hate it. I am making my schedule for my Freshman year of high school and my mother is forcing me to take orchestra. I wanted to do Foundations in Art instead. I love art and do it a lot in my free time. I want to get better. Orchestra makes me miserable. She refuses to let me quit. I also am in all AP classes which will be tough. On top of that I play the bagpipes which is a lot of work. I feel like I have no control. My parents never pushed my sister like this. What do I do?

Options: ReplyQuote
Date: August 28, 2017 06:27PM

ugh!

Posted by: summer ( )
Date: August 28, 2017 06:34PM

Talk to your guidance counselor and also the orchestra director. Tell them that you don't want to do orchestra, but instead want to take the art class. They may be able to help you.

I took my promotion into high school as an opportunity to quit the clarinet, which I likewise loathed.

BTW, tell your mom that when my engineer brother was attending MIT, the school specifically wanted him and his friends to take classes such as art so that they would be well rounded. :)

Good luck, and let us know how things go.

Posted by: Curry ( )
Date: August 28, 2017 06:51PM

How can you be in all AP classes if you are a freshman? They are usually taken in 11th and 12th grade. Perhaps you mean college track courses?

What would your mother do if you change classes to the art class? Will you be punished? Do you have a relative who would support you in convincing your mother to let you change classes?

Date: August 28, 2017 07:08PM