Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: connedvert ( )
Date: September 29, 2017 09:51PM

Why is the Mormon church so keen on interviewing its members? Is it just a control tactic like everything else?

I was a convert at the age of 12 and had my first "birthday" interview with the bishop when I was 13. My parents never sat down with me and asked me personal questions, especially about morality - if I had clean thoughts, etc. They pretty much just ignored me. So when the bishop invited me to his office to ask me personal questions - even though he scared the crap out of me (he was a lawyer by trade and conducted the interview like a cross examination), I mistook the experience for one of caring and nurturing and not the prying and controlling experience that it actually was. I thought it was so wonderful that an adult cared so much for me - the church was true!

Throughout my 20 years as a TBM I had several interviews with bishops and other church authorities, including birthday interviews from the ages of 13 - 18, yearly tithing settlement, temple worthiness interrogations, new calling interviews, etc. Seems like they were frequently delving into my personal life and I obediently answered all their prying, none-of-their-business questions.