Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Bamboozled ( )
Date: April 06, 2018 11:37AM

First, let me state that i'm keenly aware of the debate as to the historicity of whether Jesus of Nazareth actually existed so this post isn't advocating one way or the other. My beliefs are very uncertain at this time as I untangle myself from decades of mindthink i've been subjected to.

I've been attending off and on an Episcopal parish for the last several years. I've found the sermons there particularly illuminating and its made me realize that after 5 decades as a LDS (4 of those as TBM) I have no friggin clue who this Jesus of Nazareth is. I only know what I was told.

During the recent Good Friday service I sat in the pew bewildered. This Christ talked about in this very mainline liberal protestant church was so different than the Christ I had been molded to believe in since I was a CTR. I had spent countless hours in Sunday church meetings, primary, YM/YW, a mission, BYU and all I really knew was Jesus was supposed to be my special big brother who wanted me to follow his latter day prophets. There was never nuance. There was never any discussion of the context. Everything was framed in a way that would confirm that there was a restoration and that Joseph Smith was The Guy.

So, as i'm sitting in this pew realizing that after all these years I don't know a damn thing about anything I say this little half ass prayer "Hey Jesus, after all this time I still don't know who you are!". The answer, coming from myself, I know, was "Well read the New Testament, dumbass."