Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: GNPE1 ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 12:36PM

I am concerned when people say & act as though they can't function without / until their first dose each day...

Isn't this an aspect of an addiction?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: sbg ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 12:41PM

It is not the coffee they need it is the shot of caffeine. That just happens to be their delivery system.

Caffeine is a drug, just not regulated. It can be highly addictive.

Date: August 15, 2018 12:47PM

? same experience if people limit themselves to de-caf?

Posted by: gettinreal ( )
Date: August 16, 2018 10:35AM

Define “drug”. Oxygen is considered a “drug”... I used to be an EMT years ago and recall it being labeled as such.
There’s a VAST difference between caffeine and meth.

Posted by: Lethbridge Reprobate ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 12:48PM

I think I enjoy visiting with my friends at morning coffee as much as I like the beverage and I've been drinking coffee for 54 years. There are days when I don't drink any too.

Posted by: Devoted Exmo ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 01:05PM

I've been drinking coffee for decades and sometimes forget to have it in the morning if I'm busy. I have had no ill effects from drinking it or skipping it.

But I do remember being told at church that the reason mormons don't drink coffee is because it's the gateway to slavery and addiction. What nonsense. It's just a beverage.

Posted by: Roy G Biv ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 02:31PM

Me too. I usually have 2 -3 three cups with half and half in the morning. Sometimes I forget and after a while I realize I didn't make coffee....oops, but no ill effects.

I do enjoy it, but in no way do I get crabby, non-functional, tired, etc., if I don't have it.

"It's just a beverage".....well put.

Posted by: Amyjo ( )
Date: August 15, 2018 01:14PM