Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Daphne ( )
Date: February 08, 2019 03:23PM

I am curious about Mormon presence in Jasper, Indiana. In particular, I have been told about a bishop from a few years ago who guilted women into returning to abusive spouses. He was a doctor I believe. I have a client who is suffering from her experience there and I thought some more info could provide insight. She said it was a pretty small town near Indianapolis if I understood correctly. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: February 09, 2019 03:41PM

I don't know anything about Mormons in Indiana, but I do know that Indiana (and Indiana culture) and I are definitely not compatible.

When I was a young adult, and was traveling on business, by automobile, from southern California to Canada and back, (I am a writer), on my return trip to California I got enormously sick, to the point where I couldn't continue until I got at least a little bit "more well." I still don't know what was actually wrong, but probably flu of some kind.

I bought survival food at a convenience store (what I REALLY wanted, very badly!, was green chile--but obviously, there was none available in Indiana ;)--and then I checked into a motel, where I told them I was stopping because I was sick, and to please take me off of the maid service schedule, and then I proceeded to get MORE sick for the next few days....

....and it was just me, and the food from the convenience store, and the television--plus: the Holiday Inn sign directly across the street from the windows in my room (the one which usually says: "Welcome American Legion!," or "Welcome Class of [high school graduation year]", which instead (for the several days I was there) insistently proclaimed to the world: AMBITION IS THE EVIL REFLECTION OF ASPIRATION.