Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: dimmesdale ( )
Date: April 07, 2019 06:06PM

I first hears of RfM at a Seminary Symposium given at BYU in 1997. I was a seminary teacher. In his presentation, one of the leaders let it slip out how evil those anti-mormon sites were.

I jotted down the letters of the site and came home, and with great dread, entered RfM. I started reading the stories and just couldn’t stop reading—one story after another—stories that resonated so harmoniously with my experiences.

There were already a great number of interesting posters—Jiggs, Makurosu, DebbiePA, Red Pill, Jiggs, Stray Mutt, Paul from Idaho, Sebastian, Scytherius, sP and Dr. Shades, LOHim, Aussie John, Yossarian and Packham, Deconstructor and Ripman. The board was really hoppin’ with intelligent and thoughtful talk.
By the turn of the century, somehow the board had lost some of its frontal lobe check and turned into a shouting angry place. People started dropping out. But some of us were hangers on and stayed until, as Gracie put it, “The Explosion of 9-11.”
It’s been many years since I started here, but I come back from time to time just to thank Eric for changing my life for the better. I was a mother of several children, and was terrified that leaving the church would harm them. But I can say that they are all happy, productive people. They are good people, serving others, being everything I hoped for when I was active in the church. For anyone who is staying in the church “for their children,” my children can be an example that all can be well. My children have thanked me many times for my example.

Thank you Eric.

Options: ReplyQuote
Date: April 07, 2019 06:08PM

Corrections: I first "HEARD"

And...the speaker actually said the name of the site--"RfM" That's the first time I'd heard of it.

Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: April 07, 2019 06:14PM