Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cauda ( )
Date: October 16, 2021 06:01AM

Was the ism created in a eroding social context? Did it try to fill a gap? What had happened during that lead to the awakening that created the cult?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Soft Machine ( )
Date: October 16, 2021 01:30PM

I'm not an expert, but you deserve a reply, Cauda, particularly because it's actually very interesting.

I don't know all the details (and can't find the links...), but the 1820s in the US were a period of massive religious yearning, debate and experimentation. The area of New York state where the Smiths lived was worked so often by the missionaries and preachers of the various churches spouting hell-fire and brimstone in their sermons that it was known as the Burned-Over District: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burned-over_district

So you're right, Mormonism didn't arise in a vacuum - and indeed, we know that Joseph Smith Jr. was involved in this, as he became a methodist for a while (if I remember correctly) "before". Sidney Rigdon, JS's right-hand man for a long time, was even a preacher in this missionary effort (for the Campbellites, I think).

So your question is an important one, Cauda - and I hope the more erudite people on the board will be able to provide further details.

All the best to you.

Tom in Paris

Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: October 16, 2021 02:37PM

No scholarly erudition to offer, but, want to echo what Soft Machine referenced.