Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Elder Berry ( )
Date: July 07, 2022 11:26AM

Reading this was enlightening. It was easier to purchase a home in 1930?

Is living in America just being a corporate citizen?

So much for founding father enlightenment. I'm just a consumer and a producer. Life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness are secondary.

https://www.distractify.com/p/son-boomer-comeback

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: summer ( )
Date: July 07, 2022 11:34AM

I don't know that it was easier. My maternal grandfather was a coal miner and earned a good wage. He was able to buy a home around 1930. In the 1960s, my father, an engineer, had a home built with a mortgage somewhere in the $30K region. My mom said that having such a "big mortgage" used to keep him awake nights.

I do think that wages were not keeping up in modern times, but that's starting to change now. What's different is that wealthier people are starting to move out of the big cities, driving up home prices elsewhere.

Posted by: slskipper ( )
Date: July 07, 2022 11:48AM

This is not "off-topic" at all. It is exactly what the church leaders want. It started long before Ezra Benson, but he stands out as the preeminent melder of Mormonism and capitalism. Current Mormonism is indistinguishable from corporatism.Look at who gets promoted. Look at how they operate, from the way they roll out new programs to the way they treat dissent. They dissenters are not excommunicated. They are fired. Look at how revelations happen- via focus groups and surveys- with a heavy dose of clandestine infighting thrown in. To be a Mormon nowadays requires one to fully embrace the corporatization of the entire world.

Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: July 07, 2022 12:17PM