Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: summer ( )
Date: October 10, 2022 06:34PM

“I wasn’t doing anything that would jeopardize my job,” he said, “but I felt burdened by being gay at a school that would never accept me.”

https://www.sltrib.com/religion/2022/10/10/after-remaining-closeted-years/

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: BoydKKK ( )
Date: October 10, 2022 06:55PM

He has known this from the beginning.
Why now? Why wait so long to get out?

Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: October 10, 2022 07:59PM

Because he couldn’t find another job that paid as well. Same reason I didn’t quit while I was a BYU student, though I stopped believing then. Same reason an institute director friend didn’t quit until he retired. It would have caused more disruption than we wanted to deal with.

Which I think is the reason a lot of Mormons are still in the church. The shitstorm for leaving is just bigger than they want to deal with.

Posted by: gemini ( )
Date: October 10, 2022 08:56PM

I read that article. Almost posted about it, but it hit too close to home. My ex was a prof at BYU for years, too. We still have the lifetime seats we bought when the new football stadium was built. My grown kids inherited them and sit in the same seats now. He told me that he used to sit in his office on campus and watch students as they went around campus. He often wondered if any of them were as tortured as he was. He was deeply closeted.

It is so complicated. I am glad this professor finally got out. But my heart hurts for his wife.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: October 10, 2022 09:57PM

How common might these marriages been back in the 60s and 70s?

To yours or anyone willing to respond’s opinion, were there any particular situations that were taken advantage of back in the day in terms of how the YW were selected for these ventures?