Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cold-Dodger ( )
Date: October 30, 2022 01:37PM

I wanna apologize to Lot's Wife, Summer, and some others for being a rude pos some months ago over an issue that shall not be mentioned.

But I wanna talk about some progress I noticed today on the subjects I have been posting about for 8 years-ish.

Something small, but something welcome.
My self-image is healing. What is this?

Your self-image is the third person view you have of yourself in your head and how you feel about it. Both men and women have self-image issues of different kinds, although the most common one for women may be how pretty she thinks she's not as she compares herself to other women. The man's version is feeling incompetent compared to other men, although there's a strong visual attractiveness factor there too, I just wouldn't say it's as strong a woman's. Mormonism is a memetic virus that hi-jacks these needs to be loved and to love being yourself to control you. It keeps them inflamed to keep control. It hyper-connects the neural circuits controlling your self-image to the fear trigger circuits. It thinks it does you service, and you yourself won't admit something is wrong as long as you wish to fit in with that cursed society of suffering people.

Even after we figure out that there's nothing to stay for except a true blue belief in the teachings at face value, which can't be true in light of the evidence, we suffer these self-image issues. Some more than others. But it does start to get better, because you're aware that you have been fear-conditioned by silly nonsense heaped on you by people who can't think in a straight line, although it still hurts.