Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ashleyb ( )
Date: October 31, 2010 07:11PM

I'm a frequent lurker here, and I've never really felt a need to post until now.

I'm currently in my first year of college, and learned about the real history of the church about a month before leaving. When I first moved into my apartment my mom took me to the ward here so I would know people when I went again by myself. Everyone in my family has left the church except for her, and I don't have the heart to tell her that I don't believe either. Anyway, when I was in that ward they got all my information to transfer my records. I haven't been back since then, and now they constantly call me and leave me messages. I never answer or call them back. They've come by on a few occasions but I've either not been home or just didn't answer the door.
Yesterday I was expecting someone, so when there was a knock on my door I was pissed when it turned out to be the missionaries. They asked the usual things like "is there anything we can do for you" and all that good stuff. Then they went on to ask me what they can do to get me to go back to church and if I would be going on Sunday. I didn't really know what to say to them, so I just gave vague answers and told them I would be busy on Sunday.
I know they will be back (especially since I could tell they were excited to be talking to a girl around their age), but I need advice on what to say to them when that happens. I don't want to be rude and I don't want to say anything that will make it sound like I will come back to church.
I would resign but I don't want my mom to get hurt if she ever found out.
Also, if anyone has any advice on what to do about members stopping by unexpectedly that would help too. I have roommates and I'm sure they don't appreciate the random visitors.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Sorcha ( )