Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Eastbourne ( )
Date: April 07, 2023 12:56PM

Joseph Smith never weighed-in on Easter - providing the true, Mormon way to calculate the date on which it should be observed.

That’s strange, to me anyway, particularly after he gave us so much other need-to-know info
Name and location of Garden of Eden
Jesus’ birth date - April 6.
You name it.

I’m no expert on the subject, but Christians (western Christianity) have generally accepted that Easter should fall on the first Sunday following the Paschal (passover) Full Moon, but no sooner than March 21. If the full moon occurs on this date, Easter then should be observed on the following Sunday. It’s my understanding that there are 19 dates that Easter can fall on.

Eastern Christianity has their own way to calculate it, and observe it on different dates.

Eastbourne’s opinion: Had JS made an attempt to provide the true, Mormon way to calculate the exact moment of a lunar event, he would have exposed himself to be the fraud he knew he was. And so he kept his prophetic abilities confined to subjective,unprovable topics, like translating unknown languages.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: April 07, 2023 02:23PM

19 is not the number of potential dates for Easter. It is referring to the 19 year cycle that it takes for a particular lunar calendar date to fall on the same Gregorian calendar date.

In theory, the dates of Easter would repeat in the Gregorian calendar every 19 years. In practice, it seems to me that leap years would perturb that calculation a little bit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metonic_cycle.

There is about a 29 day window after Mar 21 that a full moon can occur, and an additional 7 day window when a Sunday can follow the full moon, so Easter can occur within the 35 or 36 days following Mar 21.

Posted by: Lot's Wife ( )