Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: unconventional ( )
Date: September 03, 2023 06:45PM

There’s an article in todays NYT about the surprising success of Mormon Y.A. authors.

Good for them.

With me there’s always the question that if you’re so gifted, talented, and smart, then why not also have integrity and be courageous?

In other words, get out of Mormonism.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/04/2023 04:16AM by unconventional.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: summer ( )
Date: September 03, 2023 06:59PM

The only one that I'm aware of is Stephenie Meyer, author of the Twilight series. She must have made a major contribution to the $100 billion trust fund with her tithing on the profits from those novels.

When I was a classroom teacher, I always tried to build free reading time into our day. It was always fascinating to me to see what children picked. Some children's and youth series would take off like wildfire.

Posted by: First to mention Christmas ( )
Date: September 04, 2023 12:42PM

* Orson Scott Card is well known in science fiction circles.
* Brady Udell in the literary vein.
* Richard Paul Evans' Walk series is very moving.

A lot of the female ones write YA. That's a wider issue than just an LDS one.

Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: September 03, 2023 07:06PM

Mormons tend to be cases of arrested development at the Y.A. stage. Have you ever read anything in the Ensign or heard anything at GC that **wasn't** simplistic, moralizing treacle?

They are just doing what they know best.

Posted by: Lot's Wife ( )
Date: September 03, 2023 07:13PM

Brother Of Jerry Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Mormons tend to be cases of arrested development
> at the Y.A. stage.

Spot on.

Posted by: bradley ( )
Date: September 03, 2023 07:18PM