Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: bradley ( )
Date: February 02, 2024 06:36AM

That's what I believed about apostates when I was TBM. I couldn't understand why more wasn't being done to reach out to them. I wondered why the guy I was home teaching kept rolling his eyes.

Now I am the apostate. Did I leave because I was offended? I think I did. I was offended at being deceived and manipulated. I am no longer offended. I can look at the church objectively and see that it's not for me.

So maybe I graduated. I left that abusive relationship. I was not the problem, the church was the problem. Nowadays the church is even more problematic. Can it be fixed? Of course, with a whole new mindset. Which means it is doomed. As Ron White said, you can't fix stupid.

Science advances one death at a time. The church is like that. Change occurs when the prophet dies. The problem is that the new prophet is nearly dead. The nearly dead aren't known for radically changing their thinking.

But then if you 'fixed' the church it wouldn't be the church. There wouldn't even be a need for it or the massive intake of tithing. Nope, maybe the world needs takers. Otherwise, how would we learn when to give and when not?

Suppose you are still in the church. I'm a glass half full kind of guy. The church is quite awful, but it is less awful than many alternatives.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/02/2024 06:51AM by bradley.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: PHIL ( )
Date: February 02, 2024 10:50AM

We are often offended when our lives are not in harmony with revealed principals and doctrines. Nevertheless I do offer this apology to any I have offended.
Note: I'm being facetious here.

Date: February 02, 2024 10:52AM

Here's your sign.

Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: February 02, 2024 10:53AM