Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: green monster ( )
Date: July 23, 2011 01:21AM

My 21 year old cousin recently got married, and I'm feeling jealous and angry. I'm a couple years older, I have an advanced degree, a career, and own my own home. I worked effing hard for what I have, but did anybody ever throw me a giant party to celebrate? Nope! Exactly 2 people attended my college graduation, and 0 attended my grad school graduation. I got a total of 5 cards and $60 for both. And to top it all off, nothing I accomplish matters one bit in my family so long as I'm--gasp!--still single and childless. But along comes my younger cousin who did nothing but get horny enough to say i do yet keep her legs closed long enough to say it in the temple, and they treat her like a friggin queen. Honestly I think my family should be scolding and shunning her for dropping out of school to work a minimum wage job to support her husband while he finishes school, but noooo. She's doing exactly what good Mormon girls should be doing and I'm a bad girl for having a career and not being wed at such an advanced age. Hmph!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Laban's Head forgot her password ( )
Date: July 23, 2011 01:32AM

Talk about messed up values!

I worked with a woman once -- she was in her lat 30's, had a masters degree, a good job, etc, etc, but she was the most miserable human being to be around because she felt like failure because she wasn't married.

I would have come to your graduation AND brought you a card with money!!

Sorry your family (because of the morg society and twisted values) doesn't appreciate you as you should be.

Posted by: green monster ( )
Date: July 23, 2011 01:33AM

Aw, you made me feel better already. Thanks :)

Posted by: Longout ( )
Date: July 23, 2011 01:53AM