Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: knotheadusc ( )
Date: July 31, 2011 10:35PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oieFS785QPk

I walked down the aisle to this music and it chokes me up every time I hear it... My church organist had to learn it because it's a relatively new piece written for bagpipes by German composers...

The first time I heard this, I was in church. I was a graduate student at the University of South Carolina and decided to go to church one day. I was raised Presbyterian and there are many Scots in my family. Nevertheless, I was unfamiliar with the gorgeousness that is "Highland Cathedral" the day I went to church and there was a "kirkin' of the tartans". I remember tears streaming down my face as this piece played and Scottish clan after Scottish clan marched down the aisle to be blessed. I remember thinking the music was so beautiful that I would love it played at my wedding someday...

Two years later, I married my convert exmo husband at Virginia Military Institute and marched down the aisle to that splendid piece of music. My husband is not a VMI grad; my father, an uncle, and several cousins are... I also have several relatives who worked there, thereby making me eligible to get married there. But I think had my husband known anything about VMI, he would have been at home there... and he is at this point an Army officer, which makes him really appreciate the setting of our marriage. I chose it because it meant a lot to my family and I knew it would mean something to him, even though I was raised Presbyterian and he is an exmo. So we got married in front of a mural depicting battle, which seems very appropriate in the wake of dealing with his (now) TBM ex wife.