Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: January 13, 2012 12:08PM

Here's the scenario: My old BYU roommmate is in town on business and we are going to have brunch tomorrow. I suspect she isn't LDS anymore - she posts photos of herself on FB in tank tops, her husband isn't LDS and when we chatted, she and I both threw in a few swear words (although in fairness we both swore plenty at BYU). I'm sure she thinks I'm still a Molly Mormon. I'll bet if we both order coffee at brunch, the subject will come up but the problem is, I left because I studied my way out and I don't want to be rude if she still believes in the church and is just inactive.

Another scenario: My BIL has always been the "bad boy" of DH's family because he wobbles back and forth on his membership status. Usually he's inactive, lets someone else baptize his kids, doesn't attend the temple etc. But he still wears his garments (probably for the sake of his TBM wife) and still lives the WoW and acts Mormon. On the rare occasions the subject comes up, he says he can't stand Mormons - the people, not the church itself. In this case, I'd let sleeping dogs lie and let him bring up the subject except I know he's been dying to ask me why DH and I didn't attend my other SIL's temple wedding. He hangs around me more than he used to and when Mormonism comes up, he seems like he wants to ask me what exactly is going on but doesn't want to pry. I've dropped a few hints that I agree with his non-attendance, which have seemed to make him very happy, but he is obviously hesitant to bring it up and again, if I bring it up and talk about how I studied the church and don't believe in it any more, I don't want to insult him if he's a believer who just can't stand to hang out around Mormons. Sometimes JackMormons are the strongest defenders of the faith.