Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: lindsaymccall ( )
Date: December 08, 2010 04:37PM

So...
I went to church from ages 0-20 every week faithfully. I held the calling of ward organist from 12-18 or 19. I went to seminary for three years straight, never missing class. I sat in the front row for seminary, Sunday School, and Young Womens. I went to Gospel Doctrine and Relief Society early, at 17 because I was the only Laurel in our ward. I studied my scriptures like a madwoman, prayed morning and night, and wrote a missionary.

I was NINETEEN when I first heard that Joseph Smith was a polygamist, and I learned it from an ex-Mo friend who I didn't believe initially.

Nineteen! I knew about Brigham Young, of course--but he was painted as a kooky prophet who went to extremes. There were lots of seemingly important church policies and doctrines that I had never heard of--and as I calculate it, I spent:

Over 3,000 hours in church
Over 500 hours in YW
Over 500 hours in seminary
And countless "extracurricular" hours studying on my own.

And I was never filled in on this little tidbit of information about the founder of the restored church.

So... how old were you when all the blinds started opening and the light was let in?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: wine country girl ( )
Date: December 08, 2010 04:39PM

Posted by: rutabaga ( )
Date: December 08, 2010 04:45PM

56 years old

Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: December 08, 2010 04:47PM

I was a young woman convert, married an RM in the Logan Temple in 1962. Spent the majority of the next three plus decades a totally immersed, believer in the claims of the LDS Church: temple recommend holder, attended probably 500 sessions in 8 or 9 temples, held dozens of "callings" and raised a family in the LDS Church.

It was a bit of a bad vaccination -- didn't seem to take as most of us are no longer LDS! :-)