Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: angsty ( )
Date: June 06, 2012 10:03PM

So, I used to be in a ward with Brother One-Man-Band. As full tithe-payers, he and his wife have been so blessed financially that in addition to his day-job, he has often been able to find supplemental gigs about town singing in his wobbly, churchy, overly-vibratoed voice and playing the hits of the 40's, 50's and 60's on his electronic keyboard at the finer establishments of our region (Panera Bread, for example). I know this because he reminded us in F&T meeting monthly (at least).

Back when we were in the same ward, Brother One-Man-Band and his wife got into some financial-planning pyramid scheme. I used to work in insurance and financial services, so I knew right away that this was something to STAY AWAY FROM. He and his wife offered to help us plan for our future and get out of debt. The thing is, we didn't have any debt. The reason our car is crap is because we paid it off asap and hadn't had a car payment in years. We weren't having to hit up church members with desperate part-time financial schemes either. I was young at the time (twenty four) but even then I wasn't going to get financial advice from someone who has to resort to get-rich-quick pyramid-scheming. Anyway, they pressured us for months until we had to be blunt, and later I discovered a few friends (unrelated to church) they had also approached. I'm happy to say that I saved at least three people from their clutches.

Anyway, all that to say that I've been steering clear of Brother One-Man-Band and his wife (or trying to) for over ten years because of this.