Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: anagrammy ( )
Date: December 10, 2010 11:27PM

Lisa Ling had a miscarriage and started a beautiful website where women could talk about this. I thought of you, and so many others who shared similar stories, so here's the link:

http://www.secretsocietyofwomen.com/secrets/desparate-for-kids/forum/

Best,

anagrammy

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: WiserWomanNow ( )
Date: December 11, 2010 02:39PM

Posted by: justleft ( )
Date: December 13, 2010 04:00PM

Thanks, Annagrammy. I really appreciated everyone's support. Especially yours, Shannon's, and everyone who had been through it before me. It's been a rough couple of weeks for me. Grief is awful no matter how you slice it, but very necessary.

About your original comment, you're a smart lady. You kind of had me a little figured out. I must confess I studied clinical psychology at the graduate level, until I got really sick. Prior to that, I spent a lot of time advocating for women who were victims of domestic violence and abuse, (I became an advocate after I had a sister who suffered greatly at the hands of her now ex-husband). I was a bit of an unapologetic, outspoken feminist at church for many years.

I made a point of debunking the idea to "obey your husband in all situations" in RS and SS. I was able to talk my RS Pres into having a special Enrichment meeting where I did a workshop on how to recognize and appropriately deal with domestic violence, including the legal requirements to report. We kept the workshop a secret to prevent women in attendance from being in danger and invited the Stake leaders to it. Fortunately, my Bishop was a really good guy (convert) and was very willing to fully back me up. I had a few people asking me for help privately for people they knew.