Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Southern ExMo ( )
Date: July 01, 2012 02:51PM

This is a question specifically for converts on the board:

What was your very first calling after being baptized?

and

Do you think that calling was specially selected for you, in order to suck you into the cult?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: exmollymo ( )
Date: July 01, 2012 02:55PM

I was a Sunday School teacher for the 12 year olds. I only had 5 boys in my class. Now that I know how callings are picked, I think I was "called" because that was the first vacancy. I was 18 at the time. I was baptized in April, but didn't get "called" until after I graduated high school in June.

Posted by: Southern ExMo ( )
Date: July 01, 2012 02:58PM

My first calling -- issued to me only days after I emerged out of the water -- was to be the Blazer A and Blazer B teacher in Primary. (Our ward was small, so the two classes were combined into one).

Blazer A and Blazer B were the two classes that prepared young boys for the Aaronic Priesthood, which they will get when they turn 12.

I was a young LADY, an 18 year old college freshman, who knew only the superficial pablum that the young elders (just a year or two older than me) had taught me.

So to teach that class, I was learning just one step ahead of my ten and eleven year old charges.

I learned the 13 Articles of Faith one step ahead of the boys, and other basic stuff too.

Looking back, it was a good calling for a new convert, if your goal is to suck the new convert further into the cult.

BTW, Primary was on Thursday afternoons back in those times. Not on Sunday like it is today. The Stake President's wife, herself, would pick me up at the college and drive me to the ward meetinghouse so I could teach my class.

Posted by: 2thdoc ( )
Date: July 01, 2012 03:57PM