Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: nevermojulie ( )
Date: July 16, 2012 02:59PM

Hi, I'm sorry this took so long. My internet was down after I got back from the meeting house.

I first want to make a disclaimer. I am so sorry I do not mean to offend anyone with my post. These are just my thoughts. Secondly, I have a Theology degree, so I do have a belief in God. I also respect that if you don't believe that is OK in my book. Everyone has their own path.

Secondly, I can't wrap my head around the 'once God was a man like us'. How could he be all powerful and omnipotent? I guess Joseph never looked those words up.

I got to the church at 9:15. Sacrament started at 9:30. I thought I looked the part and did well, until a missionary came up to me. He was friendly. I said I was from out of town. Perhaps he didn't buy it because during sacrament the missionaries sat by me! It was annoying. I noticed A LOT of people came late and throughout everyone had a blank face. Yep, a blank face means it is 'the one true church' why does no one smile? (Except the Bishop who I could hardly understand) It was loud even before Sacrament started. The opening Hymn was # 125 How Gentle God’s Commands. The ward business was just odd. Everyone raised their hands. Should I have? Then we sang #169 As Now We Take the Sacrament. Then Sacrament was blessed. I thought it was odd how gentle these young boys and men were with wonder bread and water. Honestly, I don't get this whole wonder bread and water thing, but I'm Catholic. We order wine and host (unleavened bread).

I thought people would be more reverent during Sacrament meeting. I also thought it would be a packed house. The missionary that talked to me sat next to a little boy and kept him entertained the whole time. Never even listened to the talks.