Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Lost Mystic ( )
Date: August 09, 2012 01:36PM

So my wife is Catholic and I'm atheist. She hasn't been able to take communion for 5 years because she married me, and in order for her to have the Catholic church's blessing, I need to apply for an annulment from my first marraige.

The annulment process includes writing a history of my life, including my childhood, experiences with drugs and alcohol, sexual history, and details about my first marraige.

I really don't feel like subjecting myself to all of that crap again, just so some religious leaders can mull through my juicy history and then judge me on it, and determine if my current marraige deserves their blessing.

Yet I want my wife to be able to participate in the church she believes in. Communion is important to her.

I've been putting this off for a couple of years now, but it's weighing on me for her sake.

I'm so aggravated with religions right now.

What would y'all do? Just curious...

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Naomi ( )
Date: August 09, 2012 01:43PM

I think it would be good for you to get the annulment. But your life details are none of their business.
So write down only what you want to share, and make up the rest. Leave out the details, tell the story your way, or say what you wish had happened. Are they really going to ask your first wife to confirm your story?

Date: August 09, 2012 03:15PM

They said they would probably contact her for verification of details.

Posted by: ambivalent exmo ( )
Date: August 09, 2012 01:50PM

I don't know much about catholicism,
but writing a life history,
including sexual details and such,
what does that have to do with getting an annulment?
And why would they need this info, if you're not the one wanting communion?
Why are they withholding communion from your wife?

I'm sorry this is happening.